Food and conversations with chef Hemant Mathur from Tulsi, NYC.

Recently I had a chance to sit down and talk to Hemant Mathur, the executive chef and co-owner of Tulsi.  Already a fan of his cooking, it was a great opportunity for me to get to know the chef’s backstory.   As a bonus, I got to learn how to make a tandoori naan.  Fresh bread and great conversation… good times!

I am sure all food lovers will enjoy the special gift he has for you at the end of this article.  Read on…

  • What fueled your passion for cooking?

 

When I was 17, I started working as an apprentice at the Rambagh Palace Hotel in Jaipur. Traditional schooling had not been exciting to me, but once I started working in the kitchen, I found myself really enjoying my work and my life.  That started me on the path to becoming a chef.

  • In brief, how would you describe your philosophy on food?  


I strive to create Indian cuisine that is bold, yet has clean and distinct flavors. It should be multidimensional – layers of flavors, textures and colors – with an elegant presentation and always made with the best-quality ingredients available.

  • How did Tulsi come about?

Tulsi is the result of a reunion of longtime friends. Tulsi’s co-owner Vijay Rao was a loyal customer of mine when I worked at Diwan Grill in the 1990s, and he has wanted to collaborate with me on a restaurant since then. Rao reconnected me with tandoor master Dhandu Ram, whom I first met when we were both aspiring chefs-in-training at New Delhi’s celebrated Bukhara Restaurant. The three of us finally have the chance to work together at Tulsi.

  • What sets Tulsi apart from other Indian restaurants in the city?

We offer a distinctive approach to Indian food – authentic in flavor, but reinterpreted for sophisticated New Yorkers, movers and shakers, and world travelers.

  • What’s your favorite dish to prepare for your family

Poori Aloo.

  • Could you share an easy yet delicious recipe for a bride-to-be, who wants to wow her fiancé?

Seared Sea Scallops with Bell Pepper Sauce and Coconut Rice.  This is fast, easy and elegant recipe especially for tanaRi events’ fans! Download the recipe from the link below.

Hemant Mathur_Seared Scallops with Bell Pepper Sauce Recipe

Tried to make this recipe?

Added your own touch to it?

We want to hear your feedback!  Share your thoughts in the comment section!

Join us on November 8th at the Tie the Knot Bazaar, to meet chef Hemant Mathur & taste some of his tasty snacks.   Email us today to rsvp@tanarievents.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Bridal Show, Event-Planning, St. Patrick's Day, Green, Healthy, DIY, Reviews, tanaRi events, Weddings

Leave a Reply

